Protecting a natural legacy

Eden Prairie / Minnetonka, Minnesota
For the public good
Join in | Issues | News | Tour the Woods | Speak Out | Archive
Governmert Officials

City of Eden Prairie

8080 Mitchell Road
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
Phone: 952-949-8300

Jay Lotthammer, Director Parks and Recreation, 952-949-8442

Stuart A. Fox, Manager, Parks and Natural Resources 952-949-8445
Contact to report heavy littering, trail damage, fallen trees, vandalism.

Jeff Cordes, Forestry Technician 952-949-8463
Contact about buckthorn, noxious weeds and diseased trees as well as for help in identifying poison ivy and other harmful plants.

Leslie Stovring, Environmental Coordinator 952-949-8327
Contact to report pollution of lakes, creeks and wetlands, water related matters, lawn watering and fertilizing regulations and Environmental Education Programs.

Stan Tekiela, Staring Lake Nature Center 952-949-8479
Staring Lake Nature Center programs, naturalist, author.

John Gertz, Heritage Preservation Specialist 952-949-8454
Contact about the proposed Birch Island Lake Heritage District and the Glen Lake Children’s Camp (National Register of Historic Places), the History Museum and city managed or designated heritage sites.

Scott Neal, City Manager

EP Police 952-949-6200
Contact to report vandalism, animal control problems and illegal use of parks such as alcohol drinking, campfires and paint ball shooting

Emergencies 911 for rescue, assaults, theft, unauthorized use of vehicles.

EP City Council


Phil Young, Mayor

Sherry Butcher

Brad Aho

Kathy Nelson

John Duckstad

City of Minnetonka

14600 Minnetonka Blvd.,
Minnetonka, MN 55345
Phone: 952/939-8389, Fax: 952/939-8244

Jan Callison, Mayor

John Gunyou, City Manager

Bob Ellingson, City Council Member, Ward 1

Jo Colleran
Natural Resources Manager

Perry Vetter
Parks and Trails Manager

Dean Elstad
Recycling and Trails Coordinator

Nine Mile Creek Watershed District

The Watershed District oversees water resources including Nine Mile Creek and its branches, Birch Island and Glen Lakes and their associated wetlands as well as lakes, ponds and wetlands in portions of Hopkins, Minnetonka, Eden Prairie, Edina and Bloomington. The Watershed District also initiates water improvement projects and evaluates requests for permits for construction projects that could impact water quality.


Kevin Bigalke, 952-835-2078
Edina Business Center, 7710 Computer Ave, #135, Edina, MN 55435

Engineering Advisor
Bob Obermeyer, 952-832-2600; email:
Barr Engineering, 4700 West 77th Street, Edina MN 55345

Legal Advisor
Smith Partners PLLP, phone 612-344-1400; fax 612-344-1550 fax
123 North Third Street, #808, Minneapolis, MN 55401

District Managers

The Managers oversee the work of the District and meet the third Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. Call Kevin Bigalke or Bob Obermeyer for information on meeting venues

LuAnn Tolliver, Chair
Minnetonka, (H) 952-938-6749

Corrine Lynch
Eden Prairie, (W) 952-893-6730

Floyd Laumann
Bloomington, (H) 952-888-12

Bob Kojetin
Edina, (H) 952-929-8889

Geoffrey Nash
Edina, (H) 952-925-5119

Hennepin County Board of Commissioners


Linda Koblick District 6 (Northern EP, Minnetonka, Hopkins, Edina
A2400 Government Center, Minneapolis, MN 55487

Randy Johnson, District 5 (Southern Eden Prairie, Bloomington, et. al)
A2400 Government Center, Minneapolis, MN 55487

State Elected Officials

David Hann, State Senator, Dist 42, 651-296-1749
G-27 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155
(H) 8887 Sylvan Ridge, Eden Prairie, MN 55347 952-934-0361

Maria Ruud, State Representative, Dist 42A 651-296-3964
311 State Office Building, 100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. Saint Paul, MN 55155
(H) 4719 Diane Drive, Minnetonka. MN 55343; 952-935-3397

Erik Paulsen, State Representative, Dist. 42B 651-296-7449
159 State Office Building, St. Paul, MN 55155
(H) 9158 East Staring Lane, Eden Prairie, MN 55347 952-949-8869

Governor Tim Pawlenty & Lt. Gov. Carol Molnau 651-296-3391
130 State Capitol Building, 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
St. Paul, MN 55155-1099
Gov. Pawlenty’s website:


Jim Ramstad, U. S. Representative (R)
Third District Office 952 881-4600
1809 Plymouth Road South, Minnetonka, MN 55305

Washington Office 202-225-2871
#300, 103 Cannon House Office Building
Washington D.C. 20515

Rep. Ramstad’s website:

Senator Amy Klobuchar
United States Senate, Washington, DC 20510

Senator Klobuchar’s website:

Norm Coleman, U. S. Senator (R)
Minnesota Office 651 645-0323
2550 University Avenue West, #100N
St. Paul, MN 55114-1052

Washington Office
United States Senate
Washington, DC 20510

Sen. Coleman’s website:

Home | Join in | Issues | News | Tour | Speak Out | Archive | Contact us
Sponsored by The Friends of Birch Island Woods. Copyright © 2000. All rights reserved.